Skip to content

13th Annual Crystal Apple Awards Celebrates Local Teachers and Outgoing Dublin Administrators

May 5, 2016

Crystal Apple Award

PLEASANTON, CA–Thirteen was not an unlucky number for a special group of educators at the 13th annual Crystal Apple Awards last Sunday hosted by Dublin and Pleasanton high school students of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The Crystal Apple Awards are unique in that students nominate and recognize the teachers, and organize the annual event.

In addition to the student-led recognition of six teachers from three Tri-Valley high schools (details below), there were also two Education Leadership Awards presented by the Church members and parents to Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hanke (retiring after 45 years of service in public education, including 10 here in Dublin) and Carol Shimizu (retiring Principal from Dublin High School, after 12 years as the Principal at DHS and 48 years in public education).

After the presentation of the Crystal Apple Awards to the Teachers by their students, Mayor David Haubert took a few minutes to commend both Superintendent Hanke and Mrs. Shimizu for all of their remarkable service and the tremendous positive impact they have had on our schools and communities.

crystal apple haubert shimizu hanke

Credit: Michelle McDonald

During seminary, a religious study class held early each morning before school, students are given the opportunity to nominate a teacher that has not only made learning more meaningful, but also one who fosters character values they deem important to life.  The nominations are then considered by a committee comprised of students who review all nominations and then choose the recipients for the year.

As in prior years, the event featured student-led presentations filled with photo essays and memories of each recognized teacher, along with emotional thank you’s from the Dublin High School, Amador Valley High School and Foothill High School teachers. The Crystal Apple Awards recognize teachers who take the extra time and care to look after each of their students and help them in their school career, while also giving guidance in living a good life.

The Crystal Apple Award recipients for 2016 are:

  • Amador Valley High School (Pleasanton) – Brian Ladd andBree Barnett-Dreyfuss
  • Dublin High School (Dublin) – Christine Buckley and Mark Chatigny
  • Foothill High School (Pleasanton) – Chris Gibbons and Eric Heinitz

As in previous years students spoke of how each of these teachers impacted their lives, and the lives of their peers. The full house in attendance for this year’s event means there will likely be many teachers in the years ahead who will celebrate a Crystal Apple Award!

Past Crystal Apple Award recipients:

Amador Valley High School

Dublin High School

Foothill High School

2004 Mr. Neil Bellow, Mr. Matt Campbell Ms. Kim Penske, Mr. Ron Rubio Mr. Dustin Collins. Mr. Robert Loew
2005 Ms. Linda Newman, Mr. Peter Robbins Ms. Veronica Alvarez, Ms. Sara Hollison Mr. Ed Cloyd, Ms. Nina Rees
2006 Mr. Clark Fuller, Mr. Darren Pagtakhan Ms. Kim Bauman, Mr. Jeff Taylor Mr. Kurt Richey, Mr. Scott Sears
2007 Mr. Chris Murphy, Mr. Colin Wenstrand Mr. Tim Sbranti, Mrs. Lenni Velez Mrs. Mary Crawbuck, Mr. Howard Gilliland
2008 Mr. Mark Aubel, Ms. Pattie Peters Ms. Rebecca Briggs, Ms. Anna Kim Ms. Barbara Correia, Mr. John Nix
Officer Floyd Gill (Alameda County Sheriff’s Office – DHS), Ms. Laurie Sargent (Valley High School)
2009 Mrs. Jill Battilega, Ms. Anne Johnson Mr. Darren Tippit, Mr. Mark Wainwright Mr. Scott Gorsuch, Ms. JoAnn Koobatian
Ms. Liz Paz-Rumore (Quarry Lane School)
2010 Ms. Delise Anderson, Ms. Mairi Wohlgemuth Ms. Barbara Hall, Ms. Julianne Sundstrom Mr. Greg Haubner, Mr. Zach Lipman
2011 Mr. Matt Kelley, Mr. Ryan Templeman Ms. Kathleen MacDonald, Ms. Maria Vlahiotis Mr. Jeremy Detamore, Mr. David Middleton
2012 Ms. Heather Pereira, Mr. Matt Thayer Ms. Lauren Andrade, Ms. Rochelle Morris Mr. Tom Calvert,
Ms. Shaun Martins
Mr. Tom Pankey (Valley High School)
2013 Mr. Tom Hall,
Mr. Jon Grantham
Ms. Lisa Carhart,
Ms. Kelly Beck
Mr. Chris Jones,
Mr. Michael Leitz
Ms. Laurie Sargent (Valley High School)
2014 Mrs. Jen Hoenshell, Mrs. Amber Carrion Mr. John Parsons, Mr. Gregory Rodriguez Mr. Joshua Hill, Mr. James Clark
2015 Mr. Brett Bower, Mr. Clif Simms, Mr. Rick Sira Ms. Katina Lewis, Ms. Jeanne Morgan Ms. Theresa Ochoa-Lionetti, Ms. Donna DeGiobbii

Presented by Dublin and Pleasanton high school students of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

2016 Crystal Apple Awards

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: